top of page

MY CHESS JOURNEY

FROM 0 TO GRANDMASTER

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME

Video Lesson With FM Goran Biočanin

First Contact - Chess.com

Today I had a free chess video lesson with FM Goran Biočanin. He was highly recommended from a former student of him named Alexander Trailovic. I came in contact with Alexander when playing a rapid game on chess.com. So Alexander told me that Goran was a friendly and very good trainer that had helped himself to be the very good player he is today, so I thought why not try him out.

Google Hangout

Goran and I met online today with the Google Hangout program, and he seemed like the most happy and friendly person I have ever met. I believe that he has what it takes as a trainer.

Goran thinks that the most important thing to teach new students, is to begin with the endgames and he gave some advice on what to start study. I should try to set up a position with a King and 2 Knights against a King and Pawn. Then to try to see the idea and plan on how to checkmate with 2 Knights. This endgame is very rare, but a the same time important to know, if you are going to win!

FM Goran Biočanin´s Advice

Goran was kind enough to give some general advice on my new journey.

1. Read Classical chessbooks like:

- Richard Reti, Masters of the Chessboard

- Jose-Capablanca Chess Fundamentals

- Emanuel Lasker Common Sense in chess

- Alexander Alekhine New York 1924 - On the Road to the World Championship 1923 - 1927

2. Try to put aside all your previous experience of chess, its a new journey. A Completely new attempt, forget your chess past!

3. Learn the endgames first, its about 260-270 theoretical chess endings which every serious player should know. There are similar principles in different kind of chess endings.

Maybe in The Future

Goran gave me 2 hours of free video lessons, and I think its very generous and is much appreciated. Right now i already have a trainer, but maybe some day I will consider Goran for some future lessons and thanks again for being the positive and happy man you are!

Regardless, I have a new friend, Gens Una Sumus!

See you soon!

FAMOUS CHESS PLAYERS
SEARCH BY TAGS
FOLLOW ME
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FEATURED POSTS
USEFUL LINKS
ARCHIVE
CATEGORIES

MY CHESS JOURNEY

FROM 0 TO GRANDMASTER

bottom of page